Student Enrichment Activities

ZED coordinates enrichment opportunities for students in the member districts.  These include: Creative Writing Contest; Choral Festival; Academic Triathlon; Traveling Art Show; Science Fair; and ZED Summer Academy. Support and implementation for these programs comes from the Gifted/Talented Contact person in each district. They include:
 
 Blooming Prairie    Janet Luick jluick@blossoms.k12.mn.us
 Byron Shelley Hodge shelley.hodge@byron.k12.mn.us
 Hayfield Sara Gillette gillesa@hayfield.k12.mn.us
 Kasson-Mantorville Aimee Johnson a.johnson@komets.k12.mn.us
 Pine Island Kiah Solberg ksolberg@pineisland.k12.mn.us
 Stewartville Vanessa Giles vgiles@ssd.k12.mn.us
 Triton Diana Connelly dconnelly@triton.k12.mn.us
 
Zumbro Education District Staff E-mail
Becky Remmele, Special Projects Coordinator bremmele@zumbroed.org
Janet Splinter, Receptionist, Clerical Support jsplinter@zumbroed.org
Did You Know......
New Legislation to Support Gifted Education.....
 
Congress has included several provisions to support high-ability and high-potential learners within the ESSA (Every Student Succeeds Act) which was signed into law last December. New changes will address how the needs of gifted students will be affected in our schools. Several specific provisions to ESSA will include:
  • State and local report cards must now report on student achievement at the advanced level, disaggregated by subgroups.
  • Title I funds may be used to identify and serve low-income gifted and talented students.
  • State plans for use of federal Title II professional development fund must address how the state will enable teachers to identify gifted and talented students and provide instruction based on their needs.
  • Districts receiving Title II funds must provide training to address the learning of gifted and talented students and may provide training to support the identification of gifted students, including high-ability students who have not been formally identified as gifted. 
Spring 2016 Talent Newsletter
 
According to the Minnesota State Department, districts receive $13 per pupil cost unit for each student that is enrolled in their district. 
CLOSE